Post Independence Period

The history of present day Himachal Pradesh in the post-independence era has been outlined below:

  1. The Chief Commissioner’s province of H.P. came into being on 15th April, 1948.
  2. H.P. became a part C state on 26th January, 1950 with the implementation of the Constitution of India.
  3. Bilaspur was merged with Himachal Pradesh on 1st July, 1954.
  4. Himachal Pradesh became Union Territory on 1st November, 1956.
  5. Kangra and most of the other hill areas of Punjab were merged with H.P. on 1st November, 1966 though its status remained that of a Union Territory.
  6. On 18th December, 1970 the State of Himachal Pradesh Act was passed by Parliament and the new state came into being on 25th January, 1971. Thus H.P. emerged as the eighteenth state of Indian Union.
  7. Himachal Pradesh has come a long way since then. It has seen a number of full-fledged governments which have led the state towards economic self-reliance.