Transport Department

Last Updated On: 06/09/2017

The Transport Department functions under the provisions of section 213 of the Motor Vehicle Act, 1988. The Transport Department is primarily established for enforcement of the provisions of the Motor Vehicle Act, 1988, Himachal Pradesh Motor Vehicles Taxation Act, 1972 and the rules framed there under. The Transport Department of Himachal Pradesh assists other organizations in the development of transport facilities and endeavors to provide an efficient, adequate and economic transport service for the movement of passengers and goods by road.

In discharging statutory functions, the department has shaped up as one of the major revenue earning departments to the Government in the shape of taxes on motor vehicles.


The Transport Department is headed by the Director Transport. He is assisted by 1 Additional Transport Commissioner, 1 Joint Transport Commissioners, 1 Accounts Officer in the Head Office. In the field, he is assisted by 12 Regional Transport Officers, 3 Regional Transport officer (Flying) and 12 Assistant Regional Transport Officer.