Last Updated On: 06/11/2018


                             The Fire Wings in the State functioned under the control of Municipal Committees/ Corporation till the year, 1972.  The State Govt. took over the control of the Fire Services at various places in the State.   During the succeeding years new Fire Stations were opened in the developing townships on need basis.   The Himachal  Fire Fighting Services Act came into force in the year, 1984 to streamline working of the Department.

Department & its organization set up:

                                The Fire Services Department in Himachal Pradesh is headed by the Director, Fire Services who is assisted by a Chief Fire Officer posted in the Directorate located at Shimla. The Directorate also has a Fire Prevention Wing under a Fire Prevention Officer. This Wing is responsible for suggesting fire prevention and protection measures. Each Fire Station is headed by the Station Fire Officer/Sub Fire Officer and the Fire Post is headed by Leading Fireman under overall supervision of Divisional Fire Officer or Commandant Home Guards of the respective Distt.  The following 1 Fire Training Centre, 22 Fire Stations and 36 Fire Posts are established in the State.

   Sr. No.  State Fire Training Centre

 1           Baldeyan, Distt Shimla

             Name of Fire Stations

1.           Reckong Peo

2.            Rampur

3.            Rohroo

4.            Mall Road Shimla

5.            Chhota Shimla

6.            Tilaknagar (Shimla-5)

7.            Nahan

8.            Paonta Sahib

9.            Bilaspur

10.          Mandi

11.          Kullu

12.          Manali

13.          Chamba

14.          Dharamshala

15.          Palampur

16.          Kangra

17.          Hamirpur

18.           Solan

19.           Parwanoo

20.           Nalagarh

21.           Baddi

22.           Una


           Name of Fire Posts

1.            Theog   

2.            Amb.

3.            Keylong

4.            Sujanpur

5.           Jawalamukhi

6.           Nurpur

7.           Jogindernagar

8.           Banikhet

9.           Naina Devi

10.         Largi

11.         Kala Amb

12.         Sunni

13.         Ghumarwin

14.         Sarkaghat

15.         Baijnath

16.         Jaisinghpur

17.         Jawali

18.         Nagrota Bagwan

19.         Churah

20.         Kharamukh

21.         Tahliwal

22.         Arki

23.         Chopal

24.         Kumarsain

25.         Anni

26.         Kotkhai

27.         Karsog

28.         Dehra

29.         Fatahpur

30.         Bijhari

31.         Banalgi

32.         Thunaag

33.        Shillai

34.        Banjar

35.       Kwar

36.       Salooni


 (i) Director Fire Services:

                                  The Director, Fire Services, Himachal Pradesh is the appointing and disciplinary authority for all Class-III & IV employees of the Department. He is also controlling authority for expenditure of allotted  budget amount under various schemes for H.P. Fire Services Department. He exercises the powers vested in him in accordance with the provisions of Himachal Pradesh Fire Fighting Services Act and rules made thereunder. 

(ii) Chief Fire Officer:

                                  The Chief Fire Officer, Himachal Pradesh assists the Director, Fire Services for giving suggestions  in relation to Technical and Administrative matters pertaining to Fire Services in the State. He is also Disbursing Officer/ Head of  Office for the establishment at Directorate level.


 (iii) Divisional Fire Officer/Fire Prevention Officer:

                                   The Divisional Fire Officers are posted at Fire Division Shimla and Fire Training Centre Baldeyan. They are responsible for Administrative and Operational control of Fire Stations and Training Centre under their jurisdiction. The Fire Prevention Officer is posted in the Directorate and he is responsible for suggesting Fire Prevention Measures in order to safeguard public property against fire.


(iv) Station Fire Officer/Sub Fire Officer:

                                  Station Fire Officer/Sub Fire Officer posted at their respective Fire Stations are responsible for efficient functioning of the Fire Station. The Station Fire Officer responsible for overall supervision of the Fire Station, attending operational duties and to upkeep the fire fighting equipments from time to time. They  report  to Commandant Home Guards  and Divisional Fire Officer of the District in which the Fire Station is located.


                                  The primary duty of the department is to protect life and property from fire and other calamities. The other different functions are as under:-

·         Issue of fire safety guide lines.

·         Issue of  “No Objection Certificate” for fire safety

·         Fire safety arrangements during public functions.

·         Issue of Fire reports.

                                  Organizing fire safety lectures/demonstrations/training/awareness programme in support of Disaster Management in the State.

                                  The organization works round the clock as far as the operational duties are concerned whereas, the office hours are from 1000 hrs. to 1700 hrs. on working  days.