PADMA AWARDS

- Padma Awards were instituted in the year 1954. Except for brief interruption(s) during the years 1978 and 1979 and 1993 to 1997, these awards have been announced every year on Republic Day.
- The award is given in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.
- *Padma Shri* is awarded for 'distinguished service'; *Padma Bhushan* for 'distinguished service of a high order'; and *Padma Vibhushan* for 'exceptional and distinguished service.
- The award seeks to recognize work of any distinction and is given for distinguished and exceptional achievements/service in all fields of activities/disciplines, such as Art, Literature and Education, Sports, Medicine, Social Work, Science and Engineering, Public Affairs, Civil Service, Trade and Industry etc.
- All persons without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex are eligible for these awards.
- The award is normally not conferred posthumously. However, in highly deserving cases, the Government could consider giving an award posthumously if the demise of the person proposed to be honoured has been recent, say within a period of one year preceding the Republic Day on which it is proposed to announce the award.
- A higher category of Padma award can be conferred on a person only where a period of atleast five years has elapsed since conferment of the earlier Padma award. However, in highly deserving cases, a relaxation can be made by the Awards Committee.
- It is the usual practice is to invite recommendations every year from all State/UT Governments, Ministries/Departments of the Government of India, Bharat Ratna and Padma Vibhushan awardees and Institutes of Excellence by 1st October. Recommendations received from them and also from other sources like Ministers, Chief Ministers/Governors of State, Members of Parliament, as also private individuals, bodies etc., are placed before the Padma Awards Committee. The Awards Committee is constituted by the Prime Minister every year.
- The recommendations made by the Awards Committee are submitted to the Prime Minister and the President for their approval. No award is conferred except on the recommendation of the Awards Committee.
- The total number of awards to be given in a year (excluding posthumous awards and to foreigners) should not be more than 120.

- The names of the award winners are published in the Gazette of India. The President may cancel and annul the award of the decoration to any person.
- The Awards are announced on 26th January every year and are presented by the President of India in an Awards presentation Ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan. The ceremony is generally held in the month of March/April.
- The decoration comprises a Sanad (Certificate) issued under the hand and seal of the President and a Medallion. A commemorative brochure giving out brief details in respect of each award winner is also released on the day of the investiture ceremony.
- The recipients are also given a replica of the medallion, which they can wear during any ceremonial/State functions etc., if they so desire.
- The award does not amount to a title and cannot be used as a suffix or prefix to the award winner's name on letterheads, invitation cards, posters, books etc. In the case of any misuse, the defaulter will forfeit the award.
- No cash allowance or any facility/benefit in terms of concession etc. in rail/air travel is attached to these awards.